International recording artiste Shaggy’s “Hot Shot” album has returned to the Billboard Reggae Albums Chart for the first time since its release 20 years ago.

The diamond-certified album entered the chart at No.3 this week. Hot Shot is the fifth studio album released by Shaggy, the project was first released on DreamWorks Records on August 8, 2000, in the United States, before being issued in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2001, with a revised track listing.

Ad - In

The revised UK edition was also released in Europe, but without the song “Why You Mad at Me?”. Hot Shot went on to be certified six times platinum in the United States according to the RIAA.

The album has sold over 9 million copies worldwide. A remix album, entitled Hot Shot Ultramix, was released in June 2002. Four singles were released from the album: “It Wasn’t Me”, “Angel”, “Luv Me, Luv Me” and the double A-side single “Dance & Shout / Hope”.

Hot Shot was the second highest-charting studio album of 2001 on the Billboard Year-End charts. It was also the best-selling album of 2001 in Canada.

Since Billboard revised its rules to include streaming, two other titles from Shaggy have made the reggae table this year. They are Best of Shaggy: The Boombastic Collection, which peaked at number two, and Hot Shot 2020 (Deluxe edition), which features a revamp of songs from the 2000 release as well as bonus tracks; it reached number four in July.

The top ten on the Billboard Reggae Charts this week are:

1. “Legend: The Best Of Bob Marley And The Wailers” Bob Marley And The Wailers
2. “Kona Town” Pepper
3. “Hotshot” Shaggy
4. “World On Fire” Stick Fire
5. “Greatest Hits” UB40
6. “Set In Stone” Stick Figure
7. “Fixtape” Popcaan
8. “Higher Place” Skip Marley
9. “Dutty Classics Collection” Sean Paul
10. “Dutty Rock” Sean Paul

Ad - Matched Content
Previous articleBuju Banton Re-releasing “’Til Shiloh” Album For 25th Anniversary
Next articleOut of Stock ! Shenseea’s Tablets Gone Within Hours